Skip to main content

Brussels: Quinten Hermans takes 2nd consecutive podium

Brussels: Quinten Hermans takes 2nd consecutive podium

Quinten Hermans and Corné Van Kessel enjoyed a strong boost in confidence following the Ethias Cross in Eeklo this Saturday, where they were able to benefit from a great start, and they were keen to repeat the feat this Sunday in the first part of the Brussels Universities Cyclocross. Besides the two pros, all the other male riders of the Tormans Cyclo Cross Team took to the start in the Belgian capital for the final round of the X20 Badkamers Trofee. Like the day before, the duo immediately took the lead, but just like the day before Toon Aerts proved to be a formidable opponent. While Quinten Hermans battled to remain within touching distance from the leader of the race, Corné Van Kessel had to give up his place at the top of the standings following an unfortunate puncture. With three laps to go, Toon Aerts was also subject to mechanical issues, allowing Hermans to regain contact and even take the lead of the cross.  Aerts, however, regained control with imperial force, quickly leaving the rider of the Tormans Cyclo Cross Team at twenty seconds. Hermans crossed the line in second, thus securing a second consecutive podium after his victory at Eeklo the day before, and clinching his third overall this season. Kevin Kuhn finished in the top 10 by crossing the line in 8th place. Corné Van Kessel, Thomas Mein and Théo Thomas took 16th, 19th and 36th places.

Quinten Hermans:
“After my performance yesterday, I intended to use that momentum and I'm happy with this podium. I believe the victory was not possible, because I made too many technical mistakes to stay on top. After Toon Aerts' puncture, I found myself in an ideal position in the lead, but it wasn't long before the bird started to fly again. Without a doubt, the strongest won."

“I still have one last cross on my calendar before starting my road campaign with Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux. To ideally approach this closing period, I have planned some rest this week. I have fond memories of my performance at Oostmalle last year, which is why I can't wait to go back and conclude in style! "

Brussels Universities Cyclocross:
1.Toon Aerts
2.Quinten Hermans +0:20
3.Niels Vandeputte +0:36
8.Kevin Kuhn +1:29
16.Corné Van Kessel +2:23
19.Thomas Mein +3:18
36.Théo Thomas +2R

Aller au contenu principal

Bruxelles : Quinten Hermans décroche un 2e podium consécutif

Bruxelles : Quinten Hermans décroche un 2e podium consécutif

Quinten Hermans et Corné Van Kessel ont connu un véritable boost en confiance suite à l'Ethias Cross à Eeklo ce samedi, où ils avaient pu profiter d'un formidable départ, et ils avaient à coeur de rendre copie conforme ce dimanche dans la phase initiale du Brussels Universities Cyclocross. Outre ces deux pros, tous les autres hommes du Tormans Cyclo Cross Team ont pris le départ dans la capitale belge pour l'ultime manche du X20 Badkamers Trofee. Comme la veille, le duo a immédiatement pris les devants, mais comme la veille Toon Aerts s'est avéré être un redoutable adversaire. Alors que Quinten Hermans luttait pour rester à distance du coureur de tête, Corné Van Kessel dut céder sa place dans le haut de classement suite à une crevaison. À trois tours de la fin, Toon Aerts fut lui aussi victime d'un défaut mécanique, permettant à Hermans à retrouver le contact et même prendre la tête du cross. Impérial, Aerts a cependant repris la main avec force, laissant quelques instants plus tard le coureur du Tormans Cyclo Cross Team à vingt secondes. Hermans franchit la ligne en deuxième place, décrochant ce faisant un second podium consécutif après sa victoire à Eeklo la veille, et son troisième au total cette saison. Kevin Kuhn termine dans le top 10 en franchissant la ligne en 8e position. Corné Van Kessel, Thomas Mein et Théo Thomas prennent les 16e, 19e et 36e places.

Quinten Hermans:
« Après ma performance d'hier, j'avais l'intention de confirmer et je suis content de ce podium. J'étais en revanche trop juste pour la victoire, car j'ai commis trop de fautes techniques. Après la crevaison de Toon Aerts, je me suis retrouvé dans une position idéale en tête, mais il n'a pas fallu longtemps avant que l'oiseau ne recommence à voler. Le plus fort a gagné. »

« Il me reste encore un cross à mon calendrier avant de commencer ma campagne sur route avec Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux. Pour négocier cette dernière ligne droite, j'ai  prévu un peu de repos cette semaine. J'ai un bon souvenir de ma prestation à Oostmalle l'an dernier, c'est pourquoi j'ai hâte d'y retourner et de conclure en beauté! »

Brussels Universities Cyclocross:
1.Toon Aerts
2.Quinten Hermans +0:20
3.Niels Vandeputte +0:36
8.Kevin Kuhn +1:29
16.Corné Van Kessel +2:23
19.Thomas Mein +3:18
36.Théo Thomas +2R