Skip to main content

Lille: Van Kessel grabs first podium of the season on a snow carpet

Lille: Van Kessel grabs first podium of the season on a snow carpet

On Sunday morning, the weather gods had surprised the Lilse Bergen with a white carpet of snow. There was hardly any sand for this penultimate cross of the X2O Badkamers Trophy, organized around the recreation area in Lille. A year after Quinten Hermans' 2nd place, the entire Tormans Cyclo Cross Team took the start with great motivation in order to match this performance. First up was Shana Maes, who despite suffering from hyperthermia, courageously managed to end her cross in 27th place. The winner in the female race was European champion Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado. As far as the male event is concerned, Quinten Hermans benefited from a head start and was quickly in the lead. Halfway through, however, he had to deal with a flat tyre, as a result of which he lost touch with his teammate Corné Van Kessel and Eli Iserbyt (Pauwels-Sauzen), who battled for the other podium places behind an impressive Laurens Sweeck (Pauwels-Sauzen). Van Kessel eventually had to settle for bronze after being overtaken by Michael Vanthourenhout (Pauwels-Sauzen) in the last lap. By doing so, the Dutchman earned his first podium place of the season, following his 4th place in Middelkerke yesterday. Hermans finished 5th and Thomas Mein held up well in 13th place. Emiel Verstrynge and Kevin Kuhn finished just outside the top 20.

Corné Van Kessel:
«My target before the race was to get a podium, so I am very happy that I succeeded! I believe I could have fought for silver if it was for a better decision making. Indeed, because I thought I could lose valuable time during bike changes, I only opted for one for the whole race. My bike became very heavy towards the end due to the frozen ice and mud. Therefore, entering the material station a second time was probably more optimal. But at least this achievement gives me a boost. I am hungry for more in the next few weeks! »

Men's Elite:
1.Laurens Sweeck
2. Michael Vanthourenhout +0: 09
3.Corné Van Kessel +0: 14
5.Quinten Hermans +0: 38
13. Thomas Mein +1: 55
21.Emiel Verstrynge +3: 19
25. Kevin Kuhn +4: 06
DNF Théo Thomas

Ladies Elite:
1. Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado
2.Lucinda Brand
3.Denise Betsema +0: 13
27. Shana Maes +9: 48